Noteworthy Happenings for the Mathematics BS Degree Program: 2003 – 2015

2003-2005

- The Minor in Mathematics begins its first official year in 2003.
- The Bachelor of Science in Mathematics begins its first official year in 2004.
- UAS Math Club started in 2004.
- First BS in mathematics awarded to Gwynne Fillerup in 2005.

2005-2006

• Jill Dumesnil joins the tenure-track mathematics faculty.

2006-2007

- First issue of the Mathematics Program Newsletter published.
- Colleen lannuzzi Joins the tenure-track mathematics faculty based out of Ketchikan.

2007-2008

- Ron Seater retires. Andrzej Piotrowski joins the tenure-track mathematics faculty.
- Week-long teaching demonstration by Project SEED, funded by UAS, hosted by Dzantik'i Heene Middle School, and arranged by Jill Dumesnil.

2008-2009

- Megan Buzby joins the tenure-track mathematics faculty.
- First large group of (5) mathematics BS degrees awarded.

2010-2011

- UAS hosts the 2011 Annual Meeting of the Pacific Northwest Section of the Mathematical Association of America (PNW MAA).
- Ron Seater Mathematics Award established.

2011-2012

- Anthony Gaussoin and Auguste Steihr become the first UAS mathematics graduates to present a talk at a PNW MAA section meeting.
- Gabriel Wechter becomes the first mathematics major to present his mathematics capstone paper at an annual PNW MAA section meeting.
- Brian Blitz becomes Chair-elect of the PNW Section of the MAA.

2012-2013

- Eric Keller presents his mathematics capstone paper at the annual PNW MAA section meeting.
- The first Ron Seater Mathematics Award is given to Eric Keller.
- Andrzej Piotrowski leads a National Research Experience for Undergraduates Program (NREUP) in mathematics at UAS.
- Niki Jacobs and Jill Dumesnil prepared and submitted a successful application to install a Pi Mu Epsilon Chapter at UAS.

2013-2014

- The paper prepared by the Summer 2013 NREUP group was accepted for publication in the journal *Involve*.
- Alaska's first chapter of Pi Mu Epsilon was installed at UAS and first induction ceremony was held in Spring 2014.
- Andre Bunton wins a Pi Mu Epsilon award for his talk at the 2014 MathFest.
- Niki Jacobs wins a UAS URECA Art Meets Science award.

2014-2015

• Mathematics majors give presentations of their work in the annual URECA Art Meets Science lecture series.